Biography

 

A work of art is like music; it is a journey through emotion. What matters in the end is how you felt. "- Monique Boudreau

 

 

This original artist, born in the 60s, grew up in Montreal. Her talent was noticed at an early age and she was called upon to flesh out banners and cover pages for publications of various events, both in primary and high school.

Despite her desire to develop this spark that shines in her, it was at the insistence of her parents that she studied marketing at Cegep Rosemont. With this diploma, she has had various companies over the years, but this little flame never died. While juggling her life as an entrepreneur and as a mom, she follows various artistic trainings. In her thirties, it was in a workshop that she learned how to mix colors and began her first oil paintings. A few years later, Raymond Létourneau also marked her journey with living models workshops of. The fast modifying pausesof the models shakes the artist to learn how to execute charcoal sketches more quickly.

It is towards the end of her forties that she takes the bull by the horns and returns to school. She enrolled at the Academy of Arts and Design of Montreal (AADMTL) and takes an intensive class in interior architectural design. She has excellent grades, but she also has a revelation that will put an end to this new motion; “I just want to be an artist and create”.

After some research, her choice lands on René Milone. His tutorials exploring different techniques and his versatile knowledge with various mediums, make him the ideal teacher. While following his workshops, Monique extends her training with other talented artists such as Antoine Bittar - impressionist painter, Marie-Andrée Couture - collagist painting artist and Martine Letourneau - sculptor.

Her first exhibition takes place at Atelier René Milone in June 2013. It's followed by the exhibition “Le salon des Arts Visuels de Brossard” in April 2015 and then at the “Plaisir d'Artistes de Montréal” in May 2015. She wins a "Mention of Excellence" from the jury in 2016 for the international Césure competition. It did not take more then this to give her wings and since then, she goes from one exhibiting to the next every year and participating in competitions. In 2020, she has her first symposium and, in order to propel her career, her last training is on entrepreneurship for the visual arts, given by the Quebec Ministry of Education through Zoom Academy from which she graduated in spring 2020.

Overlapping the two concepts, her art carries a powerful environmental and psychological message. Mixed techniques are often used to clarify  what she wants to express.

She has the privilege of working from her workshop in her home located on the South Shore of Montreal. Living fully and taking time for her family and friends, her days are mainly filled by her art. She wishes to touch the hearts of people,  awaking them while amazing them.

Biographie

 

« Une œuvre d’art c’est comme de la musique; c’est un voyage dans l’émotion. Ce qui importe à la fin, c’est ce que vous avez ressenti. » - Monique Boudreau

 

 

Cette artiste originale, née dans les années 60, a grandi à Montréal. Toute jeune on remarque son talent et il est mis à contribution pour étoffer bannières et pages couverture pour publications de divers évènements, tant au primaire qu’au secondaire.

Malgré sa volonté pour faire évoluer cette étincelle qui brille en elle, c’est sous l’insistance de ses parents qu’elle étudie en marketing au Cegep Rosemont. Forte de ce diplôme, elle a diverses compagnies au fil des ans, mais cette petite flamme ne s’éteint jamais. Tout en jonglant avec sa vie d’entrepreneur et de maman, elle suit différentes formations artistiques.  Dans la trentaine, c’est en atelier qu’elle apprend le mélange des couleurs et commence ses premières toiles à l’huile. Quelques années plus tard, Raymond Létourneau marque également son parcours avec ses ateliers de modèles vivants. Les changements de pauses de courtes durées secouent l’artiste qui apprend à exécuter plus rapidement des esquisses au fusain.

C’est vers fin quarantaine qu’elle prend le taureau par les cornes et retourne aux études. Elle s’inscrit à l’Académie des Arts et du Design de Montréal (AADMTL) et suit un cours intensif en architecture d’intérieur. Elle a d’excellentes notes, mais elle a aussi une révélation qui mettra court à ce nouvel élan; « Je veux simplement être une artiste et créer des œuvres ». Après quelques recherches, son choix se pose sur René Milone. Ses tutoriels explorant différentes techniques et ses connaissances versatiles avec divers médiums, font de lui le professeur idéal. Tout en suivant ses ateliers, Monique étend sa formation avec d’autres artistes de talent tel qu’Antoine Bittar- peintre impressionniste, Marie-Andrée Couture -artiste peinture collagiste et Martine Letourneau -sculpteure.

Sa première exposition a lieu à l’Atelier René Milone en juin 2013.  Elle a été suivie par l’exposition « Le salon des Arts Visuels de Brossard » en avril 2015 et ensuite au « Plaisir d’Artistes de Montréal » en mai 2015. Elle remporte une « Mention d’excellence » de la part du jury en 2016 pour le concours international de Césure. Il n’en fallait pas plus pour lui donner des ailes et depuis, elle fait des expositions à chaque année et participe à des concours. En 2020, elle a sa première exposition solo et son premier symposium et, afin de propulser sa carrière, sa dernière formation se porte sur l'entrepreneuriat pour les arts visuels, donné par le Ministère de l’éducation du Québec par l’entremise de Zoom Académie d’où elle ressort diplômée au printemps 2020.

Chevauchant entre deux frontières, son art véhicule un puissant message environnemental et psychologique. Souvent des techniques mixtes sont utilisées afin de rendre plus clair ce qu’elle désire exprimer.

Elle a le privilège de travailler de son atelier, à son domicile situé sur la Rive Sud de Montréal. Vivant pleinement et prenant du temps pour sa famille et ses amis, ses journées sont principalement gouvernées par son art avec lequel elle souhaite toucher le cœur des gens et pourquoi ne pas les éveiller tout en les émerveillant.

Monique Boudreau - 2019

+1 438-887-1109  -  Qc, CA  

  • Blanc Facebook Icône
  • Blanc Icône Instagram